Exhibition News

Art Prizes news for October 2008

Published Thursday, September 25, 2008

Jacaranda Acquisitive Drawing Award, the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize and the RTA Martin Hanson Memorial Art Awards


In 2008 the award celebrates 20 years of promoting innovation and excellence in Australian contemporary drawing and has been increased to $30,000 to coincide with this important anniversary. The major award of $15,000 sponsored by the Friends of the Grafton Gallery is acquisitive, along with further acquisitions to the value of $15,000.

For the first time art works were selected from all the states and territories of Australia. Of the artists selected sixteen are from the North Coast region of New South Wales, thirteen from the metropolitan areas of Australia and the remaining 29 from the regional areas of Australia.

The award is the flagship of the Grafton Regional Gallery and it is very encouraging to see the JADA maintaining its strength.

The selection panel consisted of Gallery Director Jude McBean and four other arts industry professionals. The other members were Nicolas Kachel, Director of the John Gordon Gallery, Leigh Summers, Director of Coffs harbour Regional Gallery, Pam Fysh, Artist, Vice President of the Friends of the Gallery and Board Member of The Gallery Foundation, Stephen Alderton, Director, Lismore Regional Art Gallery and Susi Muddiman, Director of Tweed River Art Gallery.

Artists from the North Coast of NSW include Christine Willcocks from Mullumbimby, Robert Moore from Grafton, Mike Riley from Dorrigo, Jan Davis from Tullera, Robyn Sweaney form Mullumbimby, Rochelle Summerfield from Ocean Shores, John Smith from Eureka, Alison Williams from Grafton, Therese O’Connell from Woodburn, Angus McDonald from Lennox Head, Nigel Killalea from Coffs Harbour, Katka Adams from Clunes, Michael Cusack from Byron Bay, Gary Jolley from Dunoon and Peter Bellew from Lismore.

Other outstanding national artists include Wendy Sharpe, Godwin Bradbeer, Katherine Hattam, Anna Hoyle, Anne Judell, Deborah Klein and Gosia Wlodarczak.

Hendrik Kolenberg, Senior Curator of Australian Prints, Drawings and Watercolours Art Gallery of New South Wales, is the judge for this year’s prize.

The winner and the acquisitions will be announced by the judge at the Official Opening of the JADA 2008 to be held at the beginning of the Jacaranda Festival at 6pm on Friday 24 October.

Click here for more information about JADA.

The 2008 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize events

On October 25 at 14:15

The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize will host artist talks on Saturday 25 October between 2 and 3pm as part of this year’s exhibition of finalists. Finalists including Merric Brettle, James Powditch, Paul Ryan, William Eicholtz and Jon Tarry will talk in conversation with Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize Committee member Natalia Bradshaw about their works. The exhibition of finalists runs between 25 October and 2 November. All finalists' works are available for sale.

Kids Day Out featuring the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

A fun free family event at Woollahra Council Chambers, Double Bay Central Library and the beautiful Blackburn Gardens on Sunday 2 November from 11.00am - 2.00pm. This year the event will centre around a creative kids theme with lots of fun activities and entertainment.

Click here for more information about the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize.

2008 Rio Tinto Alcan Martin Hanson Memorial Awards and Exhibition

Saturday 8 November 2008 - 11.30am: Judge's Floor Talk
An informal discussion & walk through of the 2008 exhibition of entries. 2pm: Illustrated Public Lecture - What is good about contemporary art? By 2008 Judge, Nick Mitzevich.
Nick Mitzevich is the newly appointed director of The University of Queensland Art Museum. Previously Nick was the director of the Newcastle Region Art Gallery, a position he held for six years. In this role his initiatives included redeveloping the gallery, engaging with the community, and developing the gallery's programs and collection, particularly in contemporary Australian art. He has curated notable exhibitions, including Strange cargo: contemporary art as a state of encounter (2006-07), ABC Radio National's Your gallery (2005) and Auto fetish: mechanics of desire (2004). In fifteen years of working in the visual arts sector, Nick has also lectured in Australian art history and has worked in the commercial art market and in community arts. 6:30pm: Official Opening & Award Presentation - by Doug Grimmond, General Manager Operations, Rio Tinto Alcan.

Click here for more information about the RTA Martin Hanson Memorial Awards.

Compiled from Press Releases September 2008

© Discovery Media 2000 - 2011. To syndicate our stories call 61+(0)412 477 556.

Related Stories