Exhibition News

Redlands Westpace Art Prize short list announced (Nov 2010)

Published Thursday, November 11, 2010

Short listed artists nominate their buddy emerging artist.
The 15th annual Redlands Westpac Art Prize today revealed the list of participants that includes some of Australia’s most exciting contemporary artists, who will present work in the exhibition at the Mosman Art Gallery from 20 November until 5 December 2010.

Incoming curator of the Prize renowned artist Lindy Lee has selected 18 contemporary Australian artists to present work for the main category of the 2010 Prize. Continuing the unique model of the Prize, each of those established artists have in turn invited one emerging artist to submit work for the Prize.

The winners of the $31,000 prize pool will be announced on 19 November, with artists expected to submit a diverse range of works spanning painting, photography, installation, sculpture, film and new media. The Prize places no limitations on artistic mediums that artists can enter.

There are three categories in the Prize, the main prize ($20,000), the emerging artist prize ($10,000) and a viewer’s choice award ($1,000). The winning artworks in the main and emerging artist prize categories will be acquired into the permanent collection of Redlands, providing a valuable teaching resource for Redlands visual arts students.

The short listed artists and their nominated buddy are listed:

  • Brook Andrew nominated Muzi
  • Lionel Bawden nominated Luke Thurgate
  • John Beard nominated Steven Rendell
  • Kate Benyon nominated Madeline Kidd
  • Jon Cattapan nominated Adam Lee
  • Debra Dawes nominated Susie Nelson
  • Mikala Dwyer nominated Joy Bye
  • Fiona Foley nominated Michael Cook
  • Matthys Gerber nominated Stephen Hodge
  • Peter Maloney nominated Helen Shelley
  • Danie Mellor nominated Nathan Taylor
  • Nell nominated Mitch Cairns
  • Julie Rrap nominated Philippe Vranjes
  • Nike Savvas nominated Stephanie Quirk
  • Rob Scott-Mitchell nominated Ella Condon
  • Aaron Seeto nominated Eric Bridgeman
  • Phaptawan Suwannakudt nominated Hossein Ghaemi
  • Savanhdary Vongpoothorn nominated Samorn Sanixay

© Discovery Media 2000 - 2011. To syndicate our stories call 61+(0)412 477 556.

Related Stories